Language version:

Your platform for booking language courses abroad

Progetto Lingua Italiana Dante Alighieri (PLIDA)

PLIDA (Dante Alighieri Italian Language Project) is an international certification issued by the Società Dante Alighieri in Rome for the recognition and acknowledgment of six different levels of competence in the Italian language.

More information:


The PLIDA is recognised by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Italian Ministry of Labour and Social Policies and by the Italian Ministry of University and Research as a qualification for the proficiency in the Italian language for foreigners.


The PLIDA certificates attest proficiency in Italian on a 6-level scale according to the parameters established by the Common European Framework for Languages (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2).

If the candidate passes at least three of the four required skills (speaking, listening, writing & reading), s/he may repeat the test for that skill only in the following exam session.

Usually there are  two exam sessions every year: in May and November

The PLIDA certificates do not require attending specific language courses in schools/colleges/universities.

The Syllabus and many other materials are available online on the webpage:


Exam provider's website